Meditating with the Tarot

From a previous Tarot layout, I thought I would create a Mandala for Meditation using some ideas from the book 78 Degrees of Wisdom. I kept all the original cards, but paired them up with some new ones to better move the Universe (as Grenwinae) suggested into the realm of finding a new job (click the photo for a full view):

Tarot_Sun_Mandala

At the base are the 6 of Cups and the 6 of Wands. I choose a card to be paired with the 6 of Cups that was the same number but didn’t suite. From the past, I can ride into a future victory and accolades or remember past successes.

The transformation card of Death (13) I’ve paired with Strength. With Strength I can come through the the time of change that I need to grow. Death is above the past, new comes from letting go of the old. I can draw strength from my past succeses (6 of Wands below strength).

The Sun remains the center: I know that I have difficulty becoming the child who is open to life though this is the outcome that I ultimately need in order to let go of old, destructive behaviors. From having the strength to let go and allow change, I can reach my time in the Sun, related to work success (3 of Pentacles).

The Empress (3) I’ve paired with the 3 of Pentacles. My need right now is to find productive and emotionally nourishing work. By pairing Lady Bountiful with a work being commissioned or in progress I hope to keep nudging that Universe.

The Queen of Wands – powered by will, open and honest, forthright and passionate, I’ve paired with the Queen of Pentacles, another Lady of Abundance and Plenty in the earthly realm of finances, work and earthly goods.

*~*~*~*

I’m not sure if this grouping captures the full complexity that I’m needing or if the layout is exactly one that resonates with me so I’ll continue to work on it.

Leave a Reply

