Interpretating Signs from Animal Guides

I’ve had some fantastic animal encounters in the time we have been living in Southern Missouri. It is the number one thing I will miss – like this morning, waking up to see a Pileated Woodpecker right outside or bedroom window. Because we live with so much wildlife surrounding us, I’m working on realizing when something is significant and when it is not. I’m still pondering what are significant signs by my animal guides and which are just acts of nature.

For example on three different occasions I saw a Bald Eagle. One was in an unusual place, another flew over my car and another was at a nature center. On none of these occasions did anything occur that seemed to have a link to what I saw. I eventually decided this “sign” was just for me to be in awe of Nature and realize how beautiful and inspiring She can be. While I do have several raptors that are Animal Guides, I don’t believe Eagle is one of those at this time.

*~*~*~*~*

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Because Turkey has appeared most when Grenwinae has been with me, and he has had an affinity for the Turkey feathers he collected, I’ve come to the conclusion that appearance of Turkey has something to do with a message for Grenwinae. Turkey’s generous spirit of giving and blessings also seems to be more akin to Grenwinaes’ personality than to mine.

The day I wrote this he saw two turkeys that were slowly crossing the road.

lomofeathers

*~*~*~*~*

Vulture gives me a motherly vibe. She doesn’t get too worked up about life in general because She sees so much of the dead and understands the birth-life-death recycle that we all pass through. I see as many Vultures as I do crows, so Her appearance alone is not significant in itself – other than knowing She is watching over us all and trusting to the wind to bring Her what She needs.

Vulture has to do something unusual such as seeing the family of Black Vultures or like the gift of my vulture feathers in order for me to see a direct message.

vulture_feathers_for_smudging1b
Yesterday, I was driving into town and Vulture flew up to the right front side of where I was traveling, veering off to fly over me. I definitely heard a “Be Careful!” and I replied, “I will!” and thought, I bet there’s a police officer up ahead and sure enough there was.  When animal sign is accompanied by a clear voice (as my path seems to be gifted with clairaudience) I know whatever the animal there is an accompanying message.

*~*~*~*~*

Whenever Owl shows up it is significant. He doesn’t waste an appearance on nothing! However, overall Owl’s influence on a daily basis seems to be very subtle. Whenever my intuition kicks in I immediately think “owl-sense.” It seems to be inside, slowly seeping to the surface as “revelation.”

Just knowing when something is significant, when some energy is starting to swirl about us, or even a job that Grenwinae didn’t want to apply for and that I encouraged him to do so (it’s too early to know if it is the one), seems to be what Owl is good at. During our Owl Ceremony I was overwhelmed when I heard him hooting off in the distance right at an opportune time in the ceremony.

*~*~*~*~*

Hawk is probably my oldest connection to a power animal. I have always felt an affinity to Hawks and have always seen them (even when others did not) and hailed their beauty decades before I started a Pagan path. I’ll go days without seeing Hawk (unusual in my part of the country) and suddenly see one so I know that He is there to tell me something.

Because Hawk is so present in my life, I need to spend time exploring the different types to know them better. The Red Tailed Hawk is about open plains, seeing the big picture, using vision to see the smallest detail in the vastness; the Coopers Hawk is a bird of the woods, of camouflage, and quick maneuvering as well as sudden strikes.

Hawk is a bit of a snob (UPG). He often likes to keep his back to me or pretend that He didn’t notice me as His mind is on loftier subjects (like catching a mouse). Hawk’s nature is very focused on prey and He doesn’t suffer fools. When He strikes it’s too kill.

So when He’s ready to deliver a message it is usually very direct: Hawk being chased by another bird usually means something calamitous, irritating or frustrating is about ready to happen. Of all my power animals He is the one that has also sent messages to Grenwinae to encourage and to warn him.

*~*~*~*~*

DSCN0893

Rabbit and I are still working out our relationship. She’s quiet in her approach. It’s about knowing when to act and when to be still – and I’m not very good with the being still part. It’s knowing when to take off quickly in the right direction as opposed to just running about in any silly way to get yourself killed.

Rabbit is about abundance, fertility, creativity and connected to the Moon, its 28 days cycle, and the feminine. The Hare card in the Druid Oracle cards has shown up twice in the few readings I have done.

I have been wanting to do some Rabbit work – go to a public place, get centered and grounded and see if I can disappear while people watching.

*~*~*~*~*

The weekend after we made the decision for Grenwinae to job hunt, I had several appearances or visions. Driving into town, I saw a hawk (probably a Cooper or Sharp-Shinned Hawk) fly into a grove of cedars and disappear. The next day I saw another small hawk fly from the left into what should have been my path of travel, but instead he vanished on his trajectory. Yesterday, I saw a rabbit – or rather the huge white tail – the size of my fist – bound away into the tall grass. He vanished almost as quickly as I had seen him.

Pondering these sightings, I told Grenwinae that Owl-sense, said job opportunities for him are going to appear and disappear fast. He would need to jump on them as quickly as possible before they vanish like a mirage. After a dream this morning (which I will post about later) I also think he needs to “hide in plain sight” when it comes to not letting work know about his job hunting plans.

Leave a Reply

