Uplifting and warm, massage oil for couples

I found some great recipes for massage oils on the Internet but had a few problems with them. Most used Ylang Ylang essential oil as a base and both of us find Ylang Ylang to be vomit inducing. Not exactly what I wanted for a romantic time together. I’ll be trying out more varieties as the pocketbook allows, yet for now, using what I had on hand, this is what I came up with:

Love’s Touch Massage Oil

2 ounces (1/4 cup) of Grapeseed oil. I prefer grapeseed as a massage oil as it doesn’t leave as much of a greasy residue on the skin and also glides easier. Experiment with what you and your partner like as a carrier oil.

Jasmine – 4 drops. Uplifting and joyful.
Orange – 4 drops. Tones down the floral, potentially cloying scent, of Jasmine
Ginger – 3 drops. Heat generating.
Black Pepper – 1 drop. Heat generating. Adds an afterkick of spice smell.
Clove – 1 drop. Heat generating and like Black Pepper, gives a bit of spice undertone.

After trying this out, definitely the Ginger, Black Pepper and Clove will generate heat! The longer you let the scent mature, the stronger the Jasmine will emerge. The masculine scents of Ginger, Black Pepper and Clove balance the floral scent so I think this scent would appeal to both masculine and feminine personalities.

The above recipe was adapted from one I saw here (Aphrodisiac Bath), but I changed the amounts and some ingredients to better suit a massage oil application. I personally favor woodsy, spicy or citrus smells. I find floral smells like Jasmine, Rose, Patchouli, Ylang Ylang, etc… a bit much on their own.

NOTE: I’d recommend being very careful and not use this in the genital area. Really, when it comes to anything in the tender spots, it’s best to use plain old oil (if you really are rambunctious I’d recommend unscented Canola or Olive oil and lots of it). You never know how those sensitive tissues will react to essential oils. And they could react very, very unpleasantly. Your night of passion could end you up in the emergency room instead.

WARNING: If pregnant, some of the above are not recommended so do your research beforehand. Ginger, Black Pepper and Clove can irritate sensitive skin – especially if you increase the ratio above what I’ve recommended. I’d recommend diluting essential oils to the massage oil recipe and than using on the inside of your wrist or thigh and see if your skin reacts.

BTW I don’t have sensitive skin, health concerns, not using prescribed or recreational drugs, no allergies, not pregnant etc.. so read up before you use it. Not responsible for you. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Uplifting and warm, massage oil for couples

Leave a Reply

