Crones Moon and Spiral Dance body oil recipes

August will make my 50th birthday and I’m peri-menopausal, marking a lot of changes in my skin, hair, and feminine cycles. This is a fact of life that won’t be changed but symptoms can be alleviated and I can take care of myself with loving self attention.

I can’t stress enough that the best thing you can do for your skin is:

Eat fish twice a week

Eat more than your minimum fruit and vegetables each day

Reduce or eliminate smoking and drinking (smoking kills your skin among other things)

Reduce or eliminate (never going to happen in this world) caffeine, processed sugars, and processed food.

Limit eating out to twice or once a week if even that. Make it a pleasure not an every day occurrence (something I need to get back too for sure).

Drink more water and less soda, tea or coffee.

Exercise a bit each day, even if it is just a 20 minute walk.

Wear Sunglasses whenever you exit the house unless it is nighttime! I live in a Sunshine state and trust me I’m far less wrinkled than my peers because I have been faithful to wearing sunglasses!

Wear sunblock, especially on your face. There are a lot of light, base makeups that now have sunscreen within them. A large hat also helps for when you are gardening or doing extended outside chore work.

When I was doing so well on my healthy eating, I saw a huge change in my skin. All the cellulite disappeared and though I’ve gained back it’s not returned. Kinda odd to tell the truth so I can vouch for cleaning up the diet really makes the skin change. My face had a glow to it I had never seen before and I was in my mid forties. With some dietary changes, I’m hoping I can return to that.

*~*~*~*~*

This project deals with the skin and is a body oil I can use 2-3 times a week. I knew I wanted to pick a carrier oil beneficial to overall dry to average skin (my face is actually oily-dry combo but my body skin borders on dry). For that purpose I picked Sweet Almond Oil however, if you are allergic to nuts, substitute with another carrier oil, perhaps Jojoba or Grapeseed.

To the carrier oil, I added some liquid Vitamin E. Vitamin E which can help against acne, dark circles under the eyes, skin blemishes etc.. when used with moderation.

Next decide what essential oils would benefit your skin type. For example, if you are in your 30’s and 40’s you may see more benefit from the Vitamin C found in Oranges. At fifty, not so much – that train has left the station:

Bergamot – acne, oily skin, psoriasis.
Carrot Seed – be sure to blend to relive the smell. Eczema, mature skin, toxin build up, water retention (this stuff is expensive! so I passed)
Cedarwood (Atlas) – acne, dandruff, dermatitis.
Cypress – menorrhagia, oily skin, varicose veins.
Jasmine – dry skin, sensitive skin
Juniper Berry – acne, cellulitis, toxin build up.
Lavender – Acne, athletes foot, bruises, burns, dermatitis, insect bites, itching, oily skin, scars, stretch marks.
Orange, Neroli – Mature skin, scars, stretch marks.
Orange, Sweet – dull skin.
Orange, Petitgrain – Acne, oily skin.
Patchouli – Acne, dermatitis, eczema, mature skin, oily skin.
Roman Chamomile – dermatitis, inflamed skin, insect bites.
Rose – Menopause, mature skin, eczema.
Sandalwood – dry skin, chapped skin, oily skin, sensitive skin, stretch marks.

For myself, I’ll be experimenting with Lavender, Neroli, and Sandalwood. I have mature body skin that is dry with some stretch marks. For Grenwinae, I’ve chosen Cypress, Juniper Berry, Orange (Sweet), with a hint of Black Pepper (circulation) and Ginger (circulation). He has a family history of varicose veins, poor circulation and stomach/digestive issues.

The ones I’ve chosen are based upon the (supposed) medicinal values and not the scents. That’s where doing a small mix of concentrated drops would allow you to sniff out if they work together smell-wise.

How to use: After bath or before bed, self massage about a quarter size amount each into your arms. legs, stomach, chest, neck, buttocks, thighs and calves. Massage should be brisk and vigorous, but not hard to hurt – just to stimulate. Rub in clockwise circles.

Note, oil may stain sheets or get them oily, so try a spare sheet or towel on the bed before laying down. Generally, it should absorb within the hour and if it does you may want to gently wipe off some of the excess with a warm washcloth.

 *~*~*~*~*

Crones’ Moon Body Oil
Mature, dry body skin with some stretch marks

2 ounces Sweet Almond Oil
1 ounce Jojoba Oil
1 ounce Vitamin E
24 drops Lavender Essential Oil
24 drops Sandalwood Essential Oil
12 drops Orange (Neroli) Essential Oil

*~*~*~*~*

Spiral Dance Body Oil
For dull skin needing circulation, cleansing, and detox

2 ounces Sweet Almond Oil
1 ounce Vitamin E
15 Cypress Essential Oil
15 Juniper Berry Essential Oil
9 Orange (Sweet) Essential Oil
4 drops Black Pepper Essential Oil
4 drops Ginger Essential Oil

*~*~*~*~*

I’ll be trying these for a month and report back my thoughts. If you use any of the recipes, I’d like your feedback. Of course, I hope you like them but scent is a highly personal thing.

WARNING!  Just because something is natural doesn’t mean it isn’t poisonous or toxic! Research and inform yourself! Always seek medical advice from a professional ~ not the internet! BTW I don’t have sensitive skin, health concerns, not using prescribed or recreational drugs, no allergies, not pregnant etc.. so read up before you use it. Not responsible for you. 😀

Leave a Reply

