Druid Animal Oracle – cross reading

Before I left I did a joint reading of my Animal Oracle cards in a cross spread.
In the order that the cards are placed, this is how I’ve read them.

The center card #1 was the Ram reversed – strive to be cooperative, don’t bang heads simply to bang heads. Don’t be argumentative just for the sake of being so. I am going on my trip to the second week of training and so this reminds not to get “into it” with these people who I disagree with strongly. Grenwinae is being reminded to be cooperative at work and open to the ideas at the new job.

The Ram can also denote sacrifice and in this instance we have the sacrifice of leaving Missouri, which was a beautiful state with much connection to the earth for us – as well as the reduction in money, and my sacrifice to attend this training because it takes me away from family and enables me to keep my job.

Being at the core, it’s connected to every card…

The east card #2 was the Salmon – this card has appeared several times and seems connected to our return from Missouri back to Oklahoma. It is in the emotional area and being in the east position it could also be tied to new beginnings.

The salmon has to fight hard to win it’s way back home. The Salmon also carries wisdom and knowledge. While we both are excited about being together there is also the challenges of making it work.

When reading the directions you can go a Wiccan path or a Druid connection. I personally prefer the Native American way because it makes better sense to me and is not as didactic. The Salmon is in the east position – where the sun rises, new beginnings and births, the start of something.

The south card #3 was Adder reversed – The adder to the Druids (and other cultures) had the power of healing. Here it is reversed, a reminder to use our snake abilities to heal, not to wound. It might be time to examine if we need healing ourselves and where we can turn our talents to that endeavor.

This was a reading for us together and it can’t be forgotten that Grenwinae started a new job the day after this reading – and I am going to the doctors on the 23rd with the possibility of a future surgery hanging over my head.

The south position is one of the summer and full strength. For me the adder reversed here means something physical and since I am facing some medical issues, I believe this is where this card is coming from. I need to focus on turning illness to health, damaged areas to be healed.

The west card #4 was the Wren. From something small can come great thing – quickness and vitality. On the card is a nest as well as the storm as the wren is tied to Taranis, the god of thunder. The male and female wren shares household task of taking care of the young.

The wren is also linked to migration and the wren makes several nests some as dummies either to entice the female or to fool predators, which is apt considering our recent move. Home, and the nature of home, has become really, really important to us at this time.

The west is the place of dreams (the west country often meant a mysterious place, or a place you would only go after death – death could mean the shamanic journey also). Here the card is tied to our home and I’ve written before that this separation and now union of myself and Grenwinae has shown to me that home is wherever we are together and nothing about place.

The north card #5 was the Water Dragon – another card that has appeared not only with Grenwinae (who the water dragon is a power guide) but also with his job changes. It appeared when I did the reading about coming to the first training and now I’m going to the second training. Water is connected to the emotions and being a Dragon could get fierce.

The north wind is a changing wind. It can bring the cold forces of winter, or a cooling breeze during the summer. From the Water Dragon’s position here we may be swept around by emotion, a small boat in turbulent waters.

*~*~*~*~*

When reading this four direction cross, I also took note of the relationships of the north (Water Dragon) and south (Adder) cards. Taking these together we may have some emotional turbulence we need to heal and remember not to repeat patterns of behavior from the past that can hurt each other.

Or it may be (which I think is more likely) a physical illness that will bring out some strong emotions. The later I am already seeing as I ended up in the ER over Labor Day and now I have a doctor’s appointment next Monday to discuss options.

Reading the east (Salmon) with the west (Wren), we have the wisdom to know where our real home is, as well as the ability (small but mighty) to care for our family. This I think is very spiritual as we are learning more that it is not about where we are but that we are together – not only Grenwinae and I, but our two children – a son who will soon be 20 and who s attending college, and our teen daughter, soon to be 16, who needed to return to a school where she felt better accepted for who she was.

At the crux is a card that is encouraging us to let go of our animosity and need to be right – and to give in to the sacrifice and willingness to be cooperative, even when we feel kinda bitchy inside.

One thought on “Druid Animal Oracle – cross reading

Leave a Reply

