the negative side of the tiny home trend

We plan on downsizing and I think that is a great thing. I look forward to cutting down from a 2700 sq. ft. house to something less than 1200 sq. ft. So I’m looking at a lot of house plans but I have to tell you that my Crabby Crone persona is out in full force.

While I completely agree with the need for many to downsize, cutback, get out of debt etc.. the tiny home trend often takes things way too far. People are living a whacky lifestyle and trying to mainstream it or worse act superior. I’ll list some of the things that I strongly disagree with:

1.) Not adhering to some sort of Building Code. There is a reason why a housing code exists and much of it is to avoid life threatening accidents. People are increasingly being stupid about building these homes – often built by someone with zero experience in building, carpentry, electrical or plumbing.

For example, why Tiny Home Builder did you put stairs coming out of the shower? WTF? Accident waiting to happen.

Tiny Home built out of wooden shakes? FIRE WAITING TO HAPPEN. Especially if this POS is in Texas where this type of roofing destroyed huge neighborhoods when fires jumped easily from house to house with this great tinder source. It is NOT recommended at all as a housing product.

Expect to start hearing about deaths due to carbon monoxide poisoning due to improperly vented wood stoves. Actually, that is already happening.

2.) Stating you are debt free – when you really aren’t. Plopping your Tiny Home down in your parents backyard means your parents are paying for your damn debt – grow up! Nowhere are these Tiny Homes stating how much they are paying for lot lease, gas, etc… because they are trying to hide the real costs.

Some states would also require you to slap a license plate on it. In my state I think this would be (rightfully) declared as a Mobile Home which requires licensure AND pays taxes. Yeah, so tiny home people you are not tax free – and neither should you be since property taxes pay for schools, roads, police, fire etc…

To clarify – owing no house payment due to living in a structure that is debt free is great! However, don’t say you have zero bills. You don’t.

3.) Having a traveling home that is extremely tall is a prescription for disaster anywhere you have strong winds. Don’t move to Oklahoma and expect to survive a tornado in that.

Even a strong wind storm will pitch that thing over (saw a horse shed completely flip to it’s roof because the people were too cheap to bury the corner posts and this was due to just “strong winds”).

If you look at the profile of some of the latest traveling tiny homes, they are way out of control with porches, 2nd stories, attached hot tubs – ridiculous.

4.) Cramming people into too small a space. Four people living in less than 729 sq. ft.? and I’m supposed to admire you? No, I call you dumbf*cks, because I don’t want to live my life like I am IN A PRISON CELL!

If I was single, sure I could do 729. With my current partner – hm perhaps. But I have a strong need for my “alone” time and in 729 there is no alone time. I also don’t see myself hauling up into a loft bed with these creaky knees and sleeping with a ceiling 20″ inches from my face.

We have two kids and living with them with less than 800 sq. ft. would have been a logistical nightmare. How are you….? Storing food, entertaining friends (put 8 ADD teenagers in a room and see if 729 sq. ft. would work – go ahead I dare you!), locating studying areas (the ADD kid had to have the house absolutely QUIET to study), and places for five pets (3 cats and 2 dogs).

Go ahead homeschool-survivalists and enjoy your Dugger lifestyle (sure, I’ve homeschooled but I am talking about a super-conservative lifestyle where women are menial slaves). That crap isn’t for me, which brings me to the last issue…

5.) Sacrificing quality of life. I’m all for living within your means – being inventive and creative to do so. There’s a lot of physical possessions I have let go and I’m in the process of downsizing our stuff again. However, there are a few things that I do not want to remove from my life as they bring me pleasure.

One of Grenwinae’s biggest pleasures is a bathtub – that ain’t happening in many of these tiny homes. Books – while I’m downsizing them, I still have enough to fill four bookshelves. I need a Queen Size bed with a box springs to sleep on. A futon ain’t going to cut it.

Both of us cook – a lot. These tiny homes do not have enough storage for a pantry, fridge, two-person prep, or two person cooking. I’d make you a bet that many Tiny Homers eat a lot of take out food or do little baking or cook complicated meals from scratch (watching the Tiny Home documentary movie showed just that – a lot of take out containers).

We have pets. While I have made the decision to not get any more dogs and let them live out their natural lifespan with us ; and any future cats (dumped on the property) would become barn cats, I still have five pets that need shelter over the next 10 years.

So yeah, I’m a bit crabby about this trend. I fully encourage people to downsize and cut back but this trend has gone into the radical area of crazy for me.

P.S. If I was going to spend $20,000 on a tiny home (not built to code, on wheels, with a dinky bathroom, a mico kitchenette and no laundry room) why not just buy a used mobile home that is prepped and ready to go with a large kitchen and full bath? Or a used RV that can be had for less than $20,000 and just needs cosmetic changes?

One thought on “the negative side of the tiny home trend

Leave a Reply

