Hello? Is this mic on?

About a month ago, prior to a trip, I saw the pair of our Coopers Hawks cross over the house. One was attacked by a crow and than a moment later, only one flew back over. Well, that was pretty scary as an Omen but nothing happened.

Since than, for the past month, no hawks: no shy Hawks, fence post sitting hawks, no hawks on Hawk Hill, zip, naddo, nothing. I’m thinking my Hawks are off raising babies, sitting on nests, cuddling with their SO.

The “radio silence” has been deafening.

Last week, I did observe one hawk who flew over to sit on a telephone wire. I had time to observe him because I was stopped at a light. A crow harassed him and when the Hawk ignored him, it settled down on the wire about a foot from the hawk. Every moment or two, the crow would fly up and flutter about the Hawk and maybe peck him on the back.

Hawk suffered it and tried to appear nonchalant. The crow eventually left.

I hope Hawk is not telling me that I’m behaving like a Crow and leave him alone!

 

 

Leave a Reply

